Phone: 902.275.4616

Hubbards and Area

  • | Print |

Hubbards__Friends_Aug.9th.2005_033Hubbards is a charming 215-year old seaside village where lobster suppers are popular.  The village is called the playground of St. Margaret’s Bay because of a series of summer festivals and events and a vibrant farmers market.  Year round Festivals and Events from Live Entertainment at the Shore Club, to the Lobster Festival, Community Suppers and Hubbards Area Winter Carnival.

The village of Hubbards, formerly Hubbards Cove, was most likely named for an early settler though no proof of this has ever been found. During the 1790's, Gottlieb Harnish of Lunenburg purchased 650 acres of land from the Arenburg family who held it as a land grant but had never settled in the region. Later, in 1820, Captain John Dauphinee, who had been residing across the bay at French Village, purchased some of the Harnish that became known as Dauphinee's Point. At one time, Hubbards boasted a number of hotels and inns. Now all are gone, except for the Dauphinee Inn, which is still owned by descendants of Gottlieb Harnish.

At the turn of the century or earlier, J.D. Shatford, one of the Shatford boys, decided to try his luck in the United States. His father gave him a cheque to help him on his way and apparently J.D. decided to add a few extra zeros to the cheque. Over the years, J.D. acquired a fortune as an industrialist in the corporate world. He never returned to Hubbards until after his parents had died. When he himself died he left the town a large legacy on the understanding that the money would be used to education, religious and recreational purposes only. Part of his bequest has helped two important local institutions named in his honour: the J.D. Shatford Memorial Public Library and the Shatford memorial Elementary School.

Other families settled in the area, among them were the MacLean, Shankel, Shatford, Slaunwhite, Dorey and Kean families. Some of their descendants still live in the area.

The Hubbards Heritage Society is very active in the preservation of community history and that of nearby areas. It organizes various events to help families learn about the community and the pioneers who first came here through storytelling weekends, walking tours and other activities. They also collect old memorabilia, pictures and artifacts.

JavaScript is disabled!
To display this content, you need a JavaScript capable browser.

Municipality_of_chester_logo

Bluenose Coast